News Archive

Boys Hoops Fall On Buzzer Beater In Tournament Opener

Posted on: February 19, 2016

A rough second half ended in heartbreak for the Milford High School boys basketball team as Middletown’s Kobie Johnson hit a game-winning three-pointer as time expired, sinking the Eagles by a 38-35 score in OHSAA Tournament opening round action on Friday night. A high-pressure defense by the Middies in the second half proved too much for Milford to overcome.


Milford 14-9

Middletown 10-13



Jack Engelman 10 points, 9 rebounds

Mitchell Wenzler 8 points, 3 rebounds


Kobie Johnson 13 points


  • The first quarter provided a preview of things to come as physical play and defense ruled the eight minute session. The squads battled to an eight-all tie with just over a minute left, before an Engelman three-pointer as the clock hit 0 gave the Eagles an 11-10 lead.
  • Milford opened the second quarter on an 11-4 run to take an eight-point lead just past halfway.
  • Milford led by a 27-22 count at the half on the strength of a 61 percent shooting performance from the floor.
  • The third quarter also started strong for Milford as two field goals in the first two minutes pushed the Eagles out to a game-high nine-point lead. But Brad Hall’s tip-in at the 5:56 mark proved to be Milford’s last field goal of the night.
  • The Eagles carried a 31-29 lead into the fourth and led 34-33 heading into a timeout at 2:41.
  • From there, Milford held the ball until a Middies’ foul at 1:08. The final minute was a microcosm of the game as the Eagles made just one of four free throws, including missing the front end of two one-and-ones, and committing a costly turnover.
  • Middletown’s Ethan Edwards scored off a steal with 21 seconds left to put his team up 35-34, but fouled Wenzler on the inbounds. Wenzler hit one of two at the line, which led to Johnson’s heroics.


  • Milford won the rebounding battle (26-21) for the 17th time this season, but lost for just the sixth time when doing so.
  • With a 14-9 final record, the Eagles now have 10 consecutive seasons with a winning record and at least 12 victories.