News Archive

For Third Consecutive Year, Two Eagles Advance to District Wrestling Tournament

Posted on: February 24, 2019

By the closing of the Sectional Tournament, senior Kobey Bronaugh (2nd) and junior Max Ward (4th) had qualified to advance to the OHSAA District Tournament.  Sophomore Ray Clayton placed sixth.

A second place finish extended Kobey Bronaugh’s senior season, as he will move on to the District Tournament.  Bronaugh moved right through the #138 bracket to the championship match with a bye, a fall in 5:32 over Moeller’s Hornback, and an 11-7 victory of #2 seed Thomas of Elder.  The #3 seed Bronaugh earned second after a 15-1 loss to #1 seed Niffenegger of LaSalle.

At #138, Max Ward started with a 10-8 win over Kaimann from Elder and a fall over Withrow’s Wheeler in 4:55 before a fall to #1 seed Casey Wiles of LaSalle, who went on the win the individual title.  However, in the consolation bracket he won a 13-3 major decision over Kaimann yet again.  Wrestling for third place, Ward lost 6-0 to King of Fairfield to end the day in fourth and a spot at Districts.

Sophomore Ray Clayton placed sixth at #126.  Clayton won in the opening round with a fall in 1:40 over Gordon of Oak Hills, followed by a loss to Elder’s Collins who eventually finished in 3rd place.  Clayton moved through the consolation rounds; pinning Anderson’s Upchurch in 2:25, and an 8-2 win over Krusinski of St. Xavier.  A loss by fall to Moeller’s Zenni moved him to the fifth place match, where he lost to West Clermont’s Ryan Walker.

Also competing were seniors Jack Ward (#152) and Alex Price (#160), juniors Jonah Fouts (#120) and Joseph Cutting (220), sophomores Chad Lynn (#145), Kaleb Gelter (#170), and Connor Hawkins (#182), and freshman Nathan Wiley (#113).

Milford finished in 8th place, an improvement from their 9th place finish in 2018. LaSalle claimed the team championship, while last year’s champion Elder finished in second.  Fairfield was third and the ECC’s West Clermont ended the day in fourth. Milford finished ahead of fellow ECC programs Anderson (9th), Turpin (12th) and Withrow (13th).

Final Division I Sectional Team Scores:

Team                          Score  

  1. LaSalle 308.0  
  2. Elder                         227.0  
  3. Fairfield             196.5  
  4. West Clermont 153.5
  5. Moeller             143.0  
  6. Northwest             85.0    
  7. St. Xavier             74.5    
  8. Milford             48.0    
  9. Anderson             43.0    
  10. Oak Hills             37.0    
  11. Hamilton             34.5    
  12. Turpin 23.0    
  13. Withrow             2.0      


Sectional brackets and results can be found HERE.