News Archive

Four Eagles Earn Boys Lacrosse All-Ohio Honors

Posted on: June 7, 2022

The awards continue to roll in for a quartet of Milford boys lacrosse players as Luke Ray, Jacob Smith, Keegan Laughlin and Luke Barkimer have all been named All-Ohio. Ray and Smith were selected to the second team, while Laughlin is a third team honoree and Barkimer is honorable mention.

Ray has earned a bevy of honors already, including an All-American by the Ohio South Chapter of US Lacrosse. He was the Regional Midfielder of the Year, while enjoying a second straight All-ECC first team honor, despite having his season cut short by injury. Ray capped the season with 31 goals and 32 assists, with the latter ranking fifth in the league. With one season remaining, Ray is third in school history in goals (69) and first in assists (64).

Smith was also an All-American as well as the region’s Long stick Midfielder of the Year. He is also a two-time first team all-conference selection. He made his name again this year as a stellar defender, scooping an ECC-best 173 groundballs and causing 57 opponent’s turnovers. On the offensive end, he scored eight goals and tacked on eight assists.

Laughlin was the Eastern Cincinnati Conference Player of the Year and a first team All-Region honoree. He wrapped up a decorated career this spring by becoming Milford’s all-time leading scorer, concluding his time as an Eagle with 135 goals. He also ranks second with 53 career assists. This spring, Laughlin led the league with 68 goals and tacked on 13 assists. Bound for the University of Indianapolis next year, he is now a two-time first team all-conference choice and Milford’s second straight ECC Player of the Year.

After being named second team All-ECC last year, Barkimer slid up a spot to first team honors in 2022. This spring, he was one of the top offensive players in the league, finishing sixth with 48 goals scored and ranking fourth with 34 assists.

The foursome are the first All-Ohio selections for the Eagles since Jack Hannah (1st) and Dax Creager (3rd) in 2017.