News Archive

Milford High School Announces Athletics Hall of Fame Class of 2018

Posted on: February 1, 2019

The Milford High School Athletic Department and the Milford Athletic Boosters Club are pleased to announce the Milford Athletic Hall of Fame Inductee Class of 2018. Four individuals have been chosen by the Hall of Fame committee. They are:

  • Josh Clayton (Class of 1993)—Wrestling
  • Lacee Kurtz Roberts (Class of 2009)—Cross Country, Track & Field
  • Kristen Shirk (Class of 2005)—Basketball, Softball
  • Bob Smith—Coach


The foursome was inducted on Hall of Fame prior to tonight’s (February 1) boys varsity basketball game against Anderson. Festivities included a pre-induction reception and dinner for the new inductees, their families and friends and the current members of the Milford Hall of Fame.


Inductees will receive a plaque recognizing their athletic accomplishments from the Milford Athletic Boosters Club. A lifetime pass to all Milford Athletic Department events will also be presented. Each inductee’s name will be added to the Milford Athletic Hall of Fame recognition plaque located in the Fley Center lobby at Milford High School.


Induction Class of 2018 Bios


Josh Clayton (Class of 1993)

  • Earned four varsity letters in wrestling
  • Career wrestling record of 95-38
  • Tournament record: five – 1st place, six – 2nd place, seven – 3rd place, two – 4th place
  • Most career wins in school history at the time of his graduation
  • Greater Miami Conference (GMC) wrestling champion (1993)
  • Four-time Milford Invitational Tournament wrestling champion (1991, 1992, 1993)
  • Three-time District wrestling Qualifier (1991, 1992, 1993)
  • State wrestling qualifier (1993)
  • Milford Wrestling Hall of Fame member (1993)
  • Graduated from the U.S. Naval Academy (1997)
  • Awarded Naval Aviator “Wings of Gold” (1999)
  • Awarded 10 Air Medals for over 300 sorties in Iraq and Afghanistan as an AH-1W Super Cobra pilot
  • Served as a Naval Flight Instructor in Pensacola, Florida (2005–2008)
  • Retired from the USMC as a Major (2013)


Lacee Kurtz Roberts (Class of 2009)

  • Earned eight varsity letters in cross country and track & field
  • Two-time All-Fort Ancient Valley Conference (FAVC) Buckeye Division in cross country (2007, 2008)
  • All-Fort Ancient Valley Conference (FAVC) Buckeye Division in track & field (2009)
  • State of Ohio regional Individual qualifier in cross country (2007)
  • State of Ohio regional team qualifier in cross country (2008)
  • State of Ohio regional track and field qualifier in the 3,200 meter run (2007), 1,600 meter run (2008), 800 meter run (2009)
  • Milford High School record holder in the 1,600 meter run, 3,200 meter run, 4x800 meter relay and 4x1600 meter relay at the time of her graduation


Kristen Shirk (Class of 2005)

  • Earned eight varsity letters in basketball and softball
  • 1st team All-Greater Miami Conference (GMC) in basketball (2005)
  • 2nd team All-GMC in basketball (2004)
  • 1st team All-Fort Ancient Valley Conference (FAVC) in basketball (2008)
  • Cincinnati Enquirer 1st team All-City in softball (2005)
  • Three-time varsity team captain in basketball (2003, 2004, 2005)
  • Three-time varsity team captain in softball (2003, 2004, 2005)
  • Member of the 2005 state of Ohio Final Four softball team
  • Nominated for the Wendy’s High School Heisman Award (2005)
  • Attended the University of Evansville (Indiana) on a softball scholarship where she was a four-year starter
  • Coached Legend High School to the Colorado 5A State championship (2017)
  • Selected Colorado State Softball Coach of the Year (2017)


Coach Bob Smith

  • Coached football for 25 years, serving in many capacities including head coach, linebackers coach, offensive line coach, offensive coordinator and defensive coordinator
    • Assistant football coach (1984-1998)
    • Head football coach (1999-2002)
    • Volunteer football assistant coach (2011-2016)
  • Assistant coach for Milford High School’s first Division I Ohio State Playoff team
  • Head wrestling coach (1984-1989)
  • Coached Milford to the Eastern Metro League (EML) wrestling championship (1987)
  • Eastern Metro League (EML) Coach of the Year (1987)
  • Cincinnati Enquirer Wrestling Coach of the Year (1987)
  • Milford Wrestling Hall of Fame member (1989)
  • Southwest Ohio Wrestling Coaches Association Hall of Fame member (1998)
  • Coached and mentored many football players who were awarded college scholarships
  • Milford High School biology teacher (1984-2011, 2016) and science department chair (1988-2005)