News Archive

Murphy Ends Milford Career As All-Time Win Leader

Posted on: March 12, 2017

Senior Jimmy Murphy’s outstanding career at MHS came to a close in Columbus at the OHSAA Division I State Tournament. 

Murphy will leave Milford as the leader for career wins in the history of the wrestling program.  The new record now stands at 140, five greater than the previous record set by Kyle Krummert of the Class of 2008. 

The first rounds of the State Tournament were held on Thurs., March 9 at The Jerome Schottenstein Center at Ohio State University.  Murphy faced Tre` Bogetich of Westerville Central in the opening round at 132#, and a very close 3-2 loss moved Murphy to the consolation bracket where he met Skyler Decatur of Akron Ellet.  Murphy was unable to advance following a 5-1 loss to Decatur, who eventually lost to Bogetich in the match for seventh place.

Murphy was the first Eagle to advance to the State Tournament since Connor Deitrich qualified in 2010, while the last Milford wrestler to take the podium at a State Tournament was Krummert, who placed 6th in 2007.  Murphy ended the season with a 47-7 record. 

Additional information on the State Championships can be found HERE.