News Archive

Sectional Tournament Ahead For Milford Wrestling

Posted on: February 22, 2018

A LOOK AHEAD:  The close of the regular season now leads Milford into the postseason and the OHSAA Sectional Tournament.  The Eagles will head to the 2018 OHSAA Sectional Tournament, held on Friday and Saturday, Feb. 23 & 24 at Lebanon High School.  

Twenty-five teams from the Cincinnati area are assigned to either the Lebanon or Hamilton location; Milford will be competing at Lebanon High School. The draw for the Lebanon Sectional location also includes Elder, Harrison, Kings, Lebanon, Moeller, Northwest, St. Xavier, Turpin, Western Brown, Western Hills and Winton Woods.

The top four wrestlers from each weight class will qualify to advance to the Division I District Tournament, which will be held the following week (March 2 and 3) at Kettering Fairmont High School’s Trent Arena.

Milford at Sectional Tournament, Lebanon High School

Friday, 2/24:

3:45 pm Admission gate opens

$6.00 admission fee, school ages and up

$15.00 tournament passes

4:30 pm Wrestling begins

Saturday, 2/24:

8:30 am Admission gate opens

9:00 am Wrestling begins

Semi-finals and 3rd round consolations, consolation semi-finals


$7.00 admission fee

1:30 pm Finals

More information on the Sectional Tournament can be found HERE.


2017 POSTSEASON RESULTS:  In 2017, Milford finished in seventh place at the Sectional Tournament with 72 points, an improvement from 2016 when the team finished tenth with 51 points.  Kobey Bronaugh has extensive postseason experience, finishing in second place at the Sectional Tournaments in both 2016 and 2017.  Teammate Max Ward placed fourth at the 2017 Sectional Tournament as well. 


INSIDE THE ECC:  With just five member schools reporting, the following Eagles are among the leaders in the league in their respective weight classes as of 2/22/18:

Adam Anderson:  5th - #145 (4-5, 2 pins)

Justin Bell:  2nd - #170 (14-16, 10 pins)

Kobey Bronaugh:  1st - #126 (32-5, 24 pins)

Ray Clayton:  3rd - #120 (15-14, 4 pins)

Derek Elliott:  t-4th - #160 (13-15, 6 pins)

Jared Frederick:  4th - #106 (1-5)

Jonah Fouts:  4th - #113 (1-5)

Hayden Harvey:  t-4th - #285 (3-8, 3 pins)

Connor Hawkins:  5th - #170 (3-4, 2 pins)

Chad Lynn:  4th - #132 (3-11, 2 pins)

Tristan Messerschmidt:  t-3rd - #138 (4-12, 4 pins)

Alex Price:  4th - #152 (2-5, 2 pins)

Mason Roy:  3rd - #145 (9-14, 6 pins)

Luke Schneider:  7th - #26 (4-1)

Jack Ward:  3rd - #152 (7-14, 3 pins)

Max Ward:  7th - #120 (9-5, 5 pins)


FINAL POLL WATCH:   The final poll of the 2017-2018 season was released 2/5/2018, and LaSalle will end the year as the top ranked team followed by Elder, Harrison, Mason and Fairfield.  Loveland, the only ECC program in the top ten, ends the year at seventh. Just three teams received votes in the final poll, none of which were schools from the ECC.