News Archive

Seven Eagles Receive All-ECC Honors for Track and Field; Armstrong Receives High Point Award

Posted on: June 7, 2019

All-Conference ECC: Seven members of the Milford track and field teams received All-Eastern Cincinnati Conference recognition, including Andrea Armstrong (first and second team) and Emmy Sager for the girls team, and the boys 4x200 relay team of AJ Dickerson, Dylan Hughes, Jared Engelman, Dustin Laudermilk (second team).  Emmy Sager and Owen Martin were Milford’s honorable mention recipients.

Milford Girls:

Milford’s girls team was led in 2019 by senior Andrea Armstrong, who won the High Point Award for her performance at the ECC Conference Championships.  Armstrong participated in four individual events (100 meter dash, 200 meter dash, 400 meter dash, and long jump), earning a total of 29 points and thus was awarded as the top point winner.  She also earned first-team All-ECC for her championship in the 400 meter dash, and second-team recognition in the long jump, where she finished in second place. The senior also finished 3rd in the 200 meter dash, and 4th in the 100 meter dash.  Armstrong set a new Milford girls track and field record in the 400 meter dash, not once but twice at the ECC Championships.  After setting a new record of 57.95 in the preliminary heat, she again broke her own record in the finals, and the record now stands at 57.41. The previous record was 58.00, set by Armstrong herself at the 2018 ECC Championships.

Freshman Emmy Sager made her mark on the 2019 team, and was selected as honorable mention for her season competing in the 3200 meter run.  Sager finished the 3200 in 4th place, setting a new school record of 11:13.95.  The previous record of 11:23.00 had been set in 2007 by Lacee Kurtz.  Sager went on to break the record yet again, at the District Championship, and the record now stands at 11:08.44.


Milford Boys:

The boy’s 4x200 relay team was named second team All-ECC. Senior teammates A.J. Dickerson, Dustin Laudermilk, Jared Engelman, and Dylan Hughes ended their high school career with a 2nd place finish in the relay in 1:32.82, less than a second from breaking a boys school record.

Senior Owen Martin received honorable mention recognition, for his year competing in the 400 meter relay.  Martin and teammates took 4th place at the ECC Championships.


All-Conference Coach/Individual Awards:

The girls coach of the year was awarded to Loveland’s Herb Laughman of Loveland, while Jim Brant of Kings received the award for the boys. 

Girls Awards:

High Point – Andrea Armstrong, Milford

Top Distance Performer – Sam Bush, Turpin

Top Field Performer – Lauren Steele – Turpin

Top Sprint Performer – Alaina Sullivan – Anderson


Boys Awards:

High Point – Nak’emon Williams – Kings

Top Distance Performer – Alex Justus, Kings

Top Field Performer – Chris Ward, Turpin

Top Spring Performer – Nak’emon Williams, Kings


See the full list of girls track and field All-ECC recipients HERE, and the full list of boys track and field All-ECC recipients HERE.