News Archive

Water Polo Season Kicks Off At Napoleon Sprint-Off

Posted on: August 10, 2017

SETTING THE SCENE: The start to the 2017 prep water polo season has arrived and as has become tradition, the Milford High School boys and girls squads will head north weekend to compete at Napoleon High School’s season-opening Sprint Off. Action from northwest Ohio gets underway on Friday (August 11), and continues through Saturday. The Eagles will once again be led this season by Kevin Metzger, who is now in his fourth season as head coach. The Milford boys squad will be out to improve on last season’s final record of 15-18, while the girls team wrapped up its campaign 20-9.


THE BOYS REPORT: The Eagles capped the regular season portion of the 2016 schedule on an up tick, winning three of its final five regular season matches and the State Tournament opener, before dropping its final three championship contests. Several talented varsity players from last year’s team were lost to graduation, but the Eagles do welcome back a five-member senior class that is led by returning varsity regulars Jan Rae Chavez, Branham Leavens and Matt Schnelle. Braeden Kennedy and Kameron Weaver make up the balance of Milford’s senior class. Other players returning with varsity experience include Nathan Klick and Evan Higgins, while sophomores Seth Bennett, Tyler Blimline, Will Bradley and Matthew Marks are expected to get their first taste of varsity action this fall.


THE GIRLS REPORT: Like their male counterparts, the Milford girls will also have a lot of new faces in its line-up after the loss of five graduated seniors, including Mercyhurst College signee Skyler Fontaine. The 2016 Eagles closed the regular season on a three-game winning streak, before dropping a heartbreaking 4-3 decision to Sycamore in the opening round of State Tournament play, finishing 1-2 in the postseason. This year’s flock of Eagles will be led by just a single senior in Jill Krieger. Three other players with varsity experience are also returning in juniors Stephanie Karan, Megan Krieger and Ellen Victory. Several new faces to the varsity roster will also be featured including juniors Felicity Gentry and Carley Mills and sophomores Samantha Chumley, Halle Fontaine, Zoe Huxell and Acacia Spencer.